Take me back


My heart aches as my mind only thinks about last summer–the beautiful, but unfortunately brief month I spent in Valencia, Spain. Now in my 4th year, a month away from graduation, I’m left to decide whether I return to one of my favorite places or whether I stay here and pursue a job, a 9-5 monotonous behind-the-desk occupation that most choose post-graduation.

It’s strange–I only spent a month in Spain, yet I feel this connection to the land and its people that is almost indescribable. Not a day has gone by of the past 8 months that I don’t think about my time there– the sunny days, the salty Mediterranean sea, the dancing, the music… My only desire is that I wish I had been able to spend more time there, exploring the various places it has to offer.

I don’t know whether this sense of connection comes from numerous courses taken in Spanish literature and culture, exploring its history–past, present, and future. I can’t deny that pursuing these studies has made me feel as if I owe myself to continue to be in the presence of such unique culture even after I graduate.

When else will I get the chance? Maybe it’s time. Maybe it’s time that a decision be made.

What do you think?

