An Australian Adventure: Day 6


Sydney was pouring rain on Day 6 with an intensity that I completely underestimated. I decided to treat myself to a big breakfast at the same cafe I had eaten at the first day I was there: Cafe La Flore. My big breakfast included a vegetable omelet with avocado, Turkish bread, and a cappuccino ๐Ÿ˜€ I eventually decided to give up on the rain and venture out into the wild anyway. I took a train to Kings Cross, my clothes soaked and even worse, my socks were wet, which for those of you that have experienced it, you know it’s pretty terrible.

After walking in the wrong direction several times I showed up at my destination: Sydney’s Jewish Museum. I have always had genuine interest in learning about the Holocaust and its events so I look for any chance to go to a place or museum that will teach me more about it! Although small, the museum had a special exhibit consisting of letters that people had written to their families in concentration camps, attempting to figure out how to reunite with their loved ones, and most importantly, whether or not they remained alive. Almost every letter (and I read all of them or at least the ones that had been translated into English) had been written by victims that were later murdered by the Nazis. It was heavy material to wrap my mind around but definitely worthwhile and educational.

I reflected on my visit to the museum at an Asian cafe with an Irish cream coffee and a chocolate mud cake in front of me. I met up with my friend (and host) for dinner and we made our way for an Art After Hours event at the New South Wales Gallery of Art for an enthusiastic performance by Harvard’s famous acapella group, Din & Tonics. On the way back, we went through an underground pathway called The Domain Expressway, which can be compared to a similar path you take to get to a different train platform, for instance. It was painted with beautiful, long murals on each side, depicting Sydney’s wonderful characteristics ๐Ÿ™‚

wp-1471238868704.jpg

8 thoughts on “An Australian Adventure: Day 6

  1. It is interesting to know about the Jewish museum in Sydney. I’ve been to such a museum in Morocco and in concentration camp in Poland. Their history is so rich but unfortunately Jewish people had really taught times. Such places are not easy to visit, but it is something we need to know in order to behave tolerant and peaceful society.

    1. It’s great that you had a chance to visit such museums in Morocco and Poland, closer to where everything happened. I have also been to the Holocaust museum in Washington DC and it is astonishing, but like you said also very important to acknowledge and to move forward from there ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I’ve been to Washington DC but unfortunately was not able to visit such a museum. But in my country, Ukraine we have a small city with the beautiful park, where Jewish people gather once a year for the pilgrimage. It is said that one of the important person in their religion was buried in that place.

What do you think?

