An Australian Adventure: Day 10


Day 10 began with the realization that it was my last in Sydney so I had to make the most of it! I took the ferry to one of Australia’s biggest zoos, Taronga Zoo, to meet up with my friend and her classmates. Saying that there were so many cool animals to see would be an understatement! It took us four hours to get through the whole zoo as we admired kangaroos, red pandas, interesting Australian rodents, meerkats, lizards, etc. After looking at the Asian elephants, I decided to take the sky safari, a cable car in the sky that transported me across the zoo where I had one of the loveliest views of Sydney.

We were also able to catch a seal show too! The seals were so talented and cute and definitely a refreshing change from dolphin shows at most zoos/aquariums (although I love those too). At the zoo, I was able to witness one of the best views of the city. The zoo’s giraffes actually had the best view due to where their exhibit was built! From the giraffe exhibit, you could see the Sydney skyline, the ocean, and of course the Sydney Opera House too.

Even though I was tired from walking, I wasn’t ready to go home just yet. We took a long bus/train ride to Bondi (pronounced Bond-eye) beach, Sydney’s top tourist beach. Because of winter, the sun set early at 6pm, so we only got a view of the beach in the darkness, but I appreciated it more than during the day when it is usually filled with tourist crowds. We walked along the length of Bondi beach, experiencing the small joys of sinking your bare feet into the wetness of the beach sand 🙂 The waves were loud and majestic, making the beach quite an impressive one!

Italian food was on my mind for dinner, so we went to a local Italian joint and ordered a Parmigiana with eggplant pizza. The crust was thin and not too cheesy, exactly the way I like it! At the end of the day,  I was so glad to be in such an awesome place for 10 days. Sydney stole my heart and I know I’ll be back one day with more chances to explore the rest of Australia as well 🙂

What do you think?

